Daniel J. Abrams, M.D., CEO

Dr. Abrams is the Chief Executive Officer and a Member of the Board of Directors of Cerebral Therapeutics.  Prior to founding Cerebral Therapeutics, Dr. Abrams founded Sierra Neuropharmaceuticals, Inc.; raising $21.5 million in Series A venture capital.  Dr. Abrams has practiced as a neurosurgeon and a psychiatrist and served as head of the Department of Neurosurgery at St. Joseph’s Hospital in Denver.  Dr. Abrams’ expertise with implantable CNS infusion pumps, experience in cerebrospinal fluid drug delivery and in the use and development of CNS pharmaceutics makes him well suited to lead Cerebral Therapeutics development of implantable infusion systemic medications for patients with severe medically refractory epilepsy.


Eric Distad, Vice President of Clinical Development

Mr. Distad comes to Cerebral Therapeutics as Vice President of Clinical Development with over 24 years’ experience in medical device and combination product clinical development. Mr. Distad has been responsible for the development and management of over forty (40) IDE studies from protocol development through final submission to regulatory authorities.  He has focused on Class III devices and drug-device combination products in the therapeutic areas of movement disorders and epilepsy.  Prior to joining Cerebral Therapeutics, Mr. Distad’s experience included Global Program Management at Medtronic in the Cardiac Rhythm Management and Neuromodulation Divisions, start-up and early commercial orthopedic companies, as well as leadership roles at two large Clinical Research Organizations within their Global Medical Device and Combination Product Divisions. In addition, Mr. Distad has served as in advisory positions for Medical Technology Angel Funding groups, International Medical Device and Combination Product Regulatory Panels and Therapeutic Advisory Panels.


Ashwini Sharan, M.D., Senior Medical and Scientific Advisor

Professor Sharan is the Surgical Director of the Epilepsy Center and the Residency Program Directory at Jefferson University. In addition, Dr. Sharan is the President of the North American Neuromodulation Society and the Congress of Neurological Surgeons.  Dr. Sharan is one of the leaders who developed the field of Neuromodulation as a leading area in Neurological Surgery.  Dr. Sharan is the author of numerous papers, holds multiple patents and serves as an international physician leader in new therapy development, education, and patient advocacy.



Robert Fisher, MD Senior Scientific and Medical Adviser

Dr. Fisher is Maslah Saul MD Professor and Director of the Stanford Epilepsy Center. He had research awards from the Klingenstein Foundation, EF, CURE and NIH. He has published 160 peer-reviewed articles and 4 books. He was named 1996-2016 in Best Doctors in America. He received the Ambassador Award from the International League Against Epilepsy, the 2005 AES Service Award and the 2006 Annual Clinical Research Award. Dr. Fisher is Past-President of the American Epilepsy Society, and has served on the Board of the ILAE and as Editor-in-Chief of the Journal, Epilepsia. He is past Editor-in-Chief of the website epilepsy.com.